23 Week Bumpdate and Mom Resolutions for 2017

img_2422

I was trying to decide which one of these topics to write about, when I just decided why not combine them? Most of my resolutions are actually things I want to get done before our new little one comes along, so they would be included in my bumpdate anyways. This is how the last few months have been, and what we hope to accomplish soon!

Christmas was extra fun this year with Silas seeming to really get into the festivities more than he ever has. He loved going to see Santa, taking our yearly trip to KC, and going to SDC to see the lights. Presents were undeniably his favorite part of Christmas, but what two year old doesn’t love presents? Seeing the joy in his eyes with all of these things was a wonderful experience that I will always cherish. It was a bittersweet holiday knowing that there was a loved little soul that we did not get to have with us, but I find comfort in knowing that our little one is with the One that Christmas is all about, Jesus Christ.

We are now at about 23 weeks (Sunday to be exact) and I just had my monthly appointment on Tuesday. Everything went well at the appointment. Our baby’s heartbeat was at “about 150bpm” (the nurse says the same thing almost every time!). Altogether, the appointment took about 10 minutes and I was in and out. It was a relief to know that everything is still going wonderfully, but really at this point I haven’t been worrying too much and am just trying to trust in God through this process.

Thankfully, I am still feeling pretty good physically. I have had an upset stomach occasionally and sometimes have to watch what I eat, but it’s nothing major. The thing that has caused me the most discomfort is pain in my legs/hips/butt/back area. I am not able to lie on my right side hardly at all and I get very uncomfortable when sitting for long periods of time. I have spoken to my doctor about it and she said that more aches and pains are normal in the second pregnancy. I guess for now I am just dealing with it and trying not to complain too much; it could be worse.

I am still working out on a daily basis except for the occasional break here and there when I’m extra tired or maybe when I’m on vacation and don’t have the ability to exercise. I just do 20 minutes on my elliptical and 4 sets of 50 crunches, so nothing too strenuous, but just enough to keep me feeling good and not gaining too much weight. I probably won’t be able to do the crunches here in a few weeks, so I will have to try to find something to go in place of that.

As far as weight gain goes, I was not gaining much at all in the beginning. I went to two appointments where I only gained 1 or 2 pounds in a month. The doctor said this was normal and that I would probably make up for it later on, which I think is what is happening now. I gained 6 lbs at my appointment on Tuesday, which puts me at a total of 16 lbs, but I think some of this was weight from the holidays, seeing as the next day I was down 2 lbs from that. I’m not too worried about it seeing as I am still gaining way less than I did when I was pregnant with Silas.

We have not chosen a name for our baby boy yet. We are asked this question often, but we have not decided on anything yet. We still like a couple of the names that we had in the running when we had Silas, but we are not sure if we want to choose one of them, or something entirely different. We feel that Silas’ name is pretty unique and so we want something that is just as unique and that we love just as much as his name. It is taking us awhile to come to an agreement on a name we both love, but I’m sure we will decide on one in the next few months.

Now on to the mom resolutions…

I know, I know I should have other resolutions besides those that just have to do with motherhood, but to be honest, being a mom pretty much consumes my life right now, and I’m okay with that! I love being a Momma and I love that I get to stay home with my sweet boy (soon to be boys!). Sure I have things that I want to accomplish for myself, but I feel like everything I do to better myself will ultimately help me to be a better mom, and I know that this is what the Lord has called me to do in this season of my life.

  1. Get Silas Potty Trained!

Yes we are unfortunately still working on this! Honestly I am just trying to let him do it at his own pace and not let it take over our lives. He gets upset when we try to get too serious about it, and I make him use it all the time, so we are using the potty some every day and I am hoping that he will want to do it more eventually. In a couple months here I might have to lay the law down a little more and get serious about it since I do want him trained before our second one comes along. For now though, he is doing very well when we do make a point of using the potty. He goes almost every time that he is asked to try, and if not I can still tell that he is trying to go. At least he understands the concept, but I just don’t think he is quite ready to go all in yet.

  1. Complete the remodeling of Silas’ room and get him sleeping in big boy bed

We still have quite a bit of work to do on Silas’ new room. We need to finish cleaning it out and do some cleaning of the carpet and bathroom. We also need to paint, and get all the furniture moved in and out. After his room is all ready, we will have to get him accustomed to sleeping in a regular bed. He has had no issues ever with trying to get out of his crib, so we just decided to keep him in it for awhile, but we are not buying another crib and he is kind of a big kid, so I think it is definitely time for him to be in a bigger bed. I heard it can take at least a week to get toddlers acclimated to a normal bed, so we really need to get this process started seeing as it might be a long one.

  1. Weight control

Obviously I am going to eat when I’m hungry, but I want to do my best to be healthy in this pregnancy and not eat too many sweets or gain too much weight. Seeing as I am due at the end of April, it would be nice to be able to lose most of my weight quickly. In the small town of Golden where there isn’t much to do in the summer besides go to the pool and the lake, it would be nice to be comfortable in my swim suit. I won’t really have a lot of time to lose weight before Summer comes like I did with Silas, so I am hoping to gain less weight in this pregnancy and maybe still be able to work out after giving birth. With Silas, I didn’t work out till 8 months post partum or more because I was solely focusing on having enough milk to breastfeed for at least one year. I still want to be able to breastfeed for this long, but hopefully working out some will not diminish my milk supply.

I think these are my top three resolutions or goals for right now. Obviously many things will change for us as a family this year and we will have to go with the flow as much as we can. We still have a lot to do in preparing for our new little guy, but I think we will definitely be more relaxed about it all the second time around. I am a little worried about how I will be able to split my time between two little ones in a few months, seeing as my time during the day usually revolves solely around Silas, but in talking to other moms I know this fear is normal and that we will learn to cope. Silas will have to learn to be a big boy and handle some things on his own, which makes me a little sad because in my eyes he will always be my baby boy, but he is growing up and he needs to learn to do more things on his own. Adding another life to our family in 2017 will surely change many of our daily routines, but it will also surely bring more joy and blessings into our home along the way. We are very excited to see what the New Year will bring for our family and how the Lord will work in our lives through it all.

2 thoughts on “23 Week Bumpdate and Mom Resolutions for 2017

  1. I totally understand about motherhood taking over your life! I actually wrote a post about motherhood resolutions, so I was searching to see if other mamas were doing the same! I found that in my pregnancy, doing flutter kicks and leg lifts helped me feel like I was still working my core without straining my back or neck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

