Bumpdate: 30 weeks

img_2821
Dress: BCBGeneration; Sweater: Urban Outfitters; Shoes: DSW (last season); Watch: Fossil Q; Necklace: Boutique brand 

Surprisingly I am feeling pretty good at just 9 weeks from our C-section date! Since I am having a repeat cesarean, I get to be scheduled a week before my due date, so thankfully I won’t have to wait until 40 weeks, and definitely won’t be overdue. This is definitely a blessing! Even though I am feeling pretty good this week, last week was a totally different story. I’ve realized that the second pregnancy and probably those later to come have a slew of ups and downs from week to week.

While my first pregnancy was a breeze, this one is anything but that. Even so, I am immensely thankful for this life growing inside of me and am overjoyed to be bringing another little boy into our family. My biggest worry right now is about splitting time between my sons, and getting Silas prepared for a new baby.

Right now I have so much one on one time with Silas and I love it. I am trying to soak in every moment of cuddling and playing with him. Which is probably a big reason you don’t see me on here much. I have heard so often that my heart will grow when I have another baby, but I’m not worried about loving them both; I already do love them both. I’m more concerned about not being able to hold my first born as much or to let him sit in my chair with me, which we do often. I know we will figure it all out and that Silas might have to do some growing up once his little brother is here, but a part of me doesn’t want him to grow up more than he already is. I want him to stay my baby forever!

We also have not made much progress on getting Silas into his new room and out of the baby room. I’ve worked on cleaning the room out some, but we still have so much work to do. After cleaning out the room, we need to install the laminate flooring, get all his furniture moved and situated, and then the task comes of getting him used to sleeping in a new room in a bigger bed. He has been in a crib up till this point and I’m worried that he will want to get out of bed numerous times a night. This is my top priority to get done before little brother comes, but it seems to be slow going at this point.

Anyways, I know it will all work out in the end and we will figure it out! Here are the stats on baby and me:

Baby Shu

Heartbeat: 150bpm

Weight: 3.1 lbs (although I tend to think he is more than what my app says bc Shumaker babies are always big)

Height: 17 in.

Size of a: Butternut Squash

Name: Still undecided, and we have had much debate over this!

He moves and kicks quite frequently and is very active! In fact, much more than I remember his big brother being.

Momma

Weight gain: 23 lbs give or take a pound or two depending on the day

Measuring at: 29 wks at last appt ( again Shumaker babies are big since this was at 28 wks). My next appt is on Tuesday.

Cravings: Ice cream or anything sweet really, pumpkin seeds, and Starbucks Frappucinos

Aches and Pains: Still having sciatica, but I’ve had some relief over the past week which is possibly why I feel a lot better because I sleep better without the pain.

Swelling: My fingers have just started to swell this week and I have taken all my rings off in fear that I won’t be able to get them off later :(. My hands feel naked without them. I haven’t noticed swelling in my ankles or feet yet, but I’m sure it’s not far off.

Favorite part of pregnancy: Feeling little brother kick and move inside of me of course, and finding cute clothes to fit the bump! Although I will say I have probably spent way too much money doing this even though I try to find things that will fit me during and after.

Well I think that will be all for now, since it is Sunday and I want to take a nap along with the rest of my family that is already asleep :).

Thanks for reading!

Val

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

